Rifle deer season is more popular than ever in Kansas, with the season getting underway this week. Hunters can expect to see several others in pursuit of deer this weekend and should be mindful of the laws applying to white-tailed and mule deer in Kansas.
If you receive a ticket while deer hunting in Kansas, hunters should know that a conviction or guilty plea to their first violation in Kansas could lead to fines between $500-$1,000 or six months in the county jail. In addition, if the animal harvested is a trophy, special fines apply. A white-tailed deer with an inside spread measurement of greater than 16 inches or a mule deer with an inside spread of greater than 20 inches, will earn the violator an additional $5,000 fine. (Kan. Stat. Ann. § 32-1032).
Depending on the size of the deer taken, restitution may be ordered payed to the State for the value of the deer. Based on a formula derived from the size of the antlered animal, the hunter could be facing even more additional fines.
Finally, even your first guilty plea or conviction of a hunting violation in Kansas can lead to a one year suspension of all hunting privileges. Hunters facing their second or third can lose their privileges for up to 5 years.
If you are accused of illegally hunting deer in Kansas, it is vital that you contact a Wildlife Lawyer to represent you. You have rights when it comes to the judicial process and a Wildlife Lawyer licensed in Kansas can help you. A qualified attorney with our office will be on your side and fight for you best interests, as neither the judge, prosecutor, or game warden can do so. Before paying any fines or taking any plea offers, consult with one of our Wildlife Lawyers.